Names without country specified behind them are Austrian citizens or institutions
  1979 | 1981 | 1984 | 1986 | 1988 | 1991 | 1993 | 1995 | 1997 | 2000 | 2002 | 2005 | 2007 | 2011 | 2013 | 2015 | 2017 | 2019  
SEPTEMBER 29th 1995

Sumaya Farhat Naser, Palestine
Sergej Adamowitsch Kowaljow, Russia
Ken Saro-Wiwa, Nigeria
Leyla Zana, Turkey

Recognition Prize:
Komitee zur Verteidigung der Menschenrechte im Iran
World University Service
Ludwig Boltzmann Institut für Menschenrechte
Flüchtlingshilfe Poysdorf
Obdachlosenasyl "Die Gruft"
Pater August Janisch



At the 8th award ceremony on September 29th 1995, the awards were again divided between human rights prizes and recognition of special services. The human rights prizes went to the Kurdish-Turkish opposition politician Leyla Zana, the Palestinian biologist and activist Sumaya Farhat Naser, Russian biologist and human rights expert Sergej Adamowitsch Kowaljow, as well as the Nigerian writer and civil rights activist Kenule Beeson Saro-Wiwa, known internationally as Ken Saro-Wiwa. Both Leyla Zana and Ken Saro-Wiwa were imprisoned at the time of the award ceremony. In spite of widespread international protest, Ken Saro-Wiwa was hanged on November 10th 1995 in Port Harcourt at the orders of the Nigerian dictator General Sani Abacha.

Federal Chancellor Franz Vranitzky giving the laudatory speech at the ceremonial hall of the University of Vienna.

Imprisoned prize winner Leyla Zana could not accept the award in person. Ken Saro- Wiwa jr. representing his imprisoned father.

The prizes for recognition of special services all went to Austrian people and institutions. The Committee for Defence of Human Rights in Iran, the World University Service in Graz, the Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Human Rights, the homeless shelter " Die Gruft", the Poysdorf refugee center, and Father August Janisch received prizes.

Prize winners in 1995. Johannes Rau addressed prize winners and guests of honour at the award ceremony in 1995.

A few days after the award of the prize, in October of 1995, Maria Loley, the head of the Poysdorf Refugee Center was injured in a parcel bomb attack.

Johannes Rau, who later became President of Germany, gave the keynote speech at the award ceremony.